chamber•sounds Rotating Header Image

chamber•sounds in action this August!

Chamber•Sounds is excited to announce our upcoming recitals in August! We cordially invite you to our latest music expeditions on both 26 and 27 August 2012. First of all….

Where: Esplanade Recital Studio

When: 26th August 2012 (SUN), 5.00pm

What: Following a successful call for scores, Chamber•Sounds will present an evening of world premieres, performing new music composed by six Singaporean composers. Chamber • Sounds is a chamber ensemble comprising composers and instrumentalists with the aim of bringing local and contemporary music closer to the hearts of people. Singapore new music, with its richly diverse cultures and influences, is not easily classifiable, yet immediately recognisable as conscious or subconscious responses—filtered through composers and performers alike—to the confluence of ideas that flood cosmopolitan cities like Singapore. The result is the gradual but inexorable coalescence of the Singaporean identity through the medium of music.

Join Chamber • Sounds in this first of many concerts celebrating the music of Singapore composers.

Tickets at $20 each and are available from any chamber•sounds member! Alternatively, you can email Check out our Facebook event post here

Composers and pieces featured are:
Derek Lim – In Darkness, Light Shines
Emily Koh – Freyja
Tan Mei Ling – Paradigm of a Magician
Bertram Wee – Bluebird


Participating musicians are:
Ng Wei Ping (violin), Jaryl Luo (viola) *, Chan Si-Han (cello), Kevin Seah (flute), Daniel Yiau (clarinet), Wong Yun Qi (piano)

* guest musician


Then on 27 August 2012 (MON), Chamber•Sounds is invited to perform at NAFA’s Commuter Concert.

Rehearsing for one of the pieces to be performed on 27 August 2012. From left: Daniel, Kevin, Jeremiah, Kit Yeng, Brandon, Jaryl

Where: NAFA Campus 3, Lee Foundation Theatre

When: 27th August 2012 (MON), 5.30pm

Admission $10. Tickets available at NAFA box office on the day of concert. Call 6512 4179, or email For more info, visit


Composers and pieces featured are:

Lim Tee Heong – Fading into Deafness
Jeremiah Li – Flourishes
Eric Watson – Mirages
Muhammed Mushin – A New Beginning
Terrence Wong – Wind Dance
Derek Lim – In Darkness, Light Shines


Participating musicians are:
Ng Wei Ping (violin), 
Jaryl Luo (viola) *, Brandon Voo (cello) *, Chan Si-Han (cello), Kevin Seah (flute), Daniel Yiau (clarinet), Jeremiah Li (baritone saxophone), Wong Yun Qi (piano)

* guest musicians


See you around!

Comments are closed.